Three New Jersey Towns Pass Paid Sick Leave Ordinances

Print

Within the past few weeks, three New Jersey towns – Passaic, Paterson and East Orange – passed paid sick leave ordinances.  Under these laws, private employers are required to provide paid sick leave to their employees who work a minimum number of hours per year within the city.

Under all three ordinances, employers with 10 or more employees are required to provide at least 40 hours of paid sick leave per year to their employees.  Employers with fewer than 10 employees are required to provide at least 24 hours of paid sick leave per year.  The ordinances have a special exception for employees who are child care workers, home health workers and food service workers, as they are permitted to accrue up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year, even if the employer has fewer than 10 employees.

Passaic, Paterson and East Orange employees earn one hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked, up to 40 hours per year.  The ordinances permit employees to use paid sick time to care for themselves, their spouse or civil union partner, children, siblings, parents, grandparents and grandchildren.  Employers are required to provide written notice to their employees of their rights under the law, and they must post information about the ordinance at their place of business.

All of these paid sick leave ordinances go into effect in January 2015.  Currently, there is state legislation pending that would mandate paid sick leave for all employees within New Jersey.  The bill is still being contemplated by the legislature.  Please contact Connell Foley’s labor and employment law attorneys for guidance on addressing these new paid sick leave ordinances.